Home > exercises, garden, gym, healthy eating, random stuff, resistance training, veggies > Leg workout and a fresh garden salad…

Leg workout and a fresh garden salad…

Finally, finally I was about to enjoy some of the produce out of my garden. It has been a slow going start for my garden this year as the weather could not meet and settle with a nice growing temperature for the little seeds to take hold. Either it was way to chilly or smoking hot, both of which have negative affects on little seeds and seedlings trying to get their start. But yesterday I was able to collect these to have in a fresh salad:

Radishes

Romaine Lettuce

spinach

I also added some yellow and red peppers and some tomatoes. Unfortunately, I have never had a long enough growind season to be able to grow peppers and tomatoes are always a touchy thing. My tomato plants so far look as if they have been put through the ringer because of the weather instability so I doubt I will have any fresh garden ones this year. I have been blessed with children that absolutely LOVE spinach and I can’t seem to grow enough of it to keep them satisfied. LOL

So, since I missed another day of gym having taken an unexpected day off, today will be my leg workout day. While browsing leg/glute workout videos, I ran across one called the frog squat using dumbbells. I have been doing this move but with kettle bells and never had an idea what the move was called. Frog squats suit it perfectly! Here is a video on how to do frog squats. They are super effective on glutes, hamstrings and inner thighs. I love them! Jodi over at Truth2beingfit.com posted a post yesterday on some super effective leg/butt moves to help out us ladies/men who are working on our derriere areas! I have to admit that I am afraid to try out the smith machine because ( and this will seem silly to some of you) it is in the area of the gym where all the big workout equipment is and where all the BIG, BULKY men are. Now I am not in general afraid of the big, bulky men (some of them are ultra hot!) but, little me trying to use an unfamiliar piece of equipment in this environment is FREAKY! Funny how all the big, huge men seem to congregate to the same area of the gym eh?

Anyways, I am off to pick some more fresh spinach and find a spinach dip recipe to use it in. Any of you have a good spinach dip recipe you would like to share? I love spinach dip and just don’t get enough of it in my diet! LOL

And good news about my kids: my son is doing fine after his roll over. The lady in the other car is also doing fine. You would never know my son just had such a serious accident as he is up and about and everything healed. Just some stitches near his one eye visible. And my daughter is starting to regain her memory. Very exciting to hear her talk about things she had forgotten and she didn’t realize she was now remembering. Good, good days! Haven’t heard anything about my uncle yet but, I am sure everything is going good or my grandmother would have phoned me again.

  1. July 2, 2010 at 3:02 pm | #1

    Yahoo for your garden! No green thumb here!!! I call those frog squats, plie squats but with a twist which is how far the legs are turned out. YUP, love them.. do them with dumbbells, weight plates on machines, or whatever I can get my hands on!

    Thx for the shout out on my post. Don’t be afraid!!! Just go in owning it! I learned to do that. Heck, some guys just love “to help” and may want to assist!:-) OR, if there is a lady in there that knows her stuff, ask her.

  2. July 4, 2010 at 7:58 am | #2

    I am glad to see your son is doing fine now.

    Btw, the garden veggies look terrific!

  3. July 17, 2010 at 5:36 pm | #3

    I haven’t heard from you lately. I hope all is well.

  4. September 2, 2010 at 9:31 pm | #4

    It’s been a while – I hope everything is okay.

  5. October 8, 2010 at 8:00 am | #5

    I miss you. :(

    Hope all is well. (hugs)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

