Home > new veggies tried, veggies > benefits of kale–my new veggie tried.

benefits of kale–my new veggie tried.

Kale is a leafy green related to the cabbage family. It is in fact considered a cabbage which doesn’t form a central head. It is more like a wild cabbage. Kales other name is borecole.

Kale is one of the most nutritious vegetables we have with anti-inflammatory  and antioxidant properties. It is high in vitamin c, vitamin k, beta carotene, calcium, lutein and zeaxanthin.

Kale greens make a great addition to salads and go very well with nuts such as almonds. Add kale to your green smoothie for an extra boost of nutrients. Kale freezes very well.

Since I have recently purchased and tried kale for the first time, I decided it would be good to learn about the benefits and nutrients that kale provides. So far I have only put the kale into my green monsters but, I will definately buy more to give it a try in my salads. I am sure I have seen somewhere that kale can also be cooked so I will need to do some checking to see what I can do with it.

Got in my running early today as it is way to hot later to workout. So no exercise for yesterday but, today I once again started on C25K week one (I haven’t run much in 6 months so need to restart). Wow it feels great. I need to keep motivated though!

Categories: new veggies tried, veggies
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

