Home > Uncategorized > can I get back on track?

can I get back on track?

Okay, so my dad has gone home. But, instead of getting back on track with eating and exercise right away, like always I go into a depression. What is it about my dad going home that always brings on a depression streak? He only lives 4 hours away and we see him at least one weekend a month, sometimes more. But, whenever he leaves, I get depressed and it last for 2 or 3 days. And when depressed, I DO NOT workout or eat healthy. Its junk and binges.

I think it has to do with the fact that my mom, who also only lived 4 hours away, passed away last Christmas and I hadn’t seen her in 7 years. She really was not a nice person and my kids and DH did not WANT to visit her but, we should have anyways. She was only 60 when she passed very unexpectedly from a stroke. What bothers me a lot is that she was going to come visit us for Christmas for the first time in 7 years but she never made it. Finding out that my grandfather (the most important person in my life )  was also only 60 when he passed from a stroke, and my grandmother was 61 when she too passed from a stroke, I think has put extreme fear in my heart and mind for my dad. He is 62 and in good health but, the loss of my family at such young ages, and so unexpectedly has me scared! I thought turning 40 this month wouldn’t bother me but, it has. Very much. Do I only have another 20 years to live?

I know for some people that when their time comes, their time comes. Regardless of their health status at the time. But, I still believe that being healthy and in shape will help to increase a persons life span. So that is my goal. If my time is meant to be 60, then with healthy eating and exercise, can I make it t0 70 or more?

So I need to find a way to break through this depression, and get off my butt. Get back on track! Eat healthy again and get back to my workouts. I have learned that I only need a week of no exercise to make me a couch potato again. So I need to fight the glue on my ass and get back to work. And find a way to keep at it! Can I do it?

How do you guys fight off spells of depression? Do your fears cripple aspects of your lives?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 30, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    You can do it. You know what your trigger is, so now is the time to plan ahead and ward it off. Make a list of all the things you can do instead of bingeing after your dad leaves. Then do them and check them off 1 by 1. You have created a habit that you need to try to break.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

