Home > healthy eating > Little Red and the Halo…

Little Red and the Halo…

Yesterday was grocery day. Even though I had been to Costco either in the week for fresh produce and our canned things like tuna and salmon, (ended up spending $500.00 yikes!!) I still needed a bit of other stuff that just isn’t convenient or cost friendly to buy at Costco. My son decided to come with so we could get him a winter coat. It took us 2-1/2 hours to find him something he liked and thought he looks good in! He is so much worse to shop for/with than my two teenage girls!

Buy this point, I had missed my morning snack time and it was now lunch. Even though there was a Subway behind the car, that little red devil with the pointed tail popped up on my shoulder and suggested Mcdonalds. Now it has been months, months, months since I have had ANY crap like that. But, red devil insisted, persisted, and pressured me until that was the only place focused on my mind. Yes, subway was right there. And yes, I did mention to myself how much healthier a sub would be and that I would most definately have the poops and belly aches later from the fast food. But, little red was very persistant, and insistant and since little angel with the halo had made absolutely no appearance, little red won.

My first few bites of the fries were heaven. My first few bites of my quarter pounder with cheese were sublime heaven. And then things changed. Those fries actually weren’t that great. And my burger, really did taste like cardboard which I had heard many a people say. Then hello Halo. “You knew Subway would be better, you knew it!” I finished my meal as finances don’t allow for that much waste but a lesson was surely learned.

The funny thing was though, I had heard others talk about how no matter what they did or thought, they could just not stop themselves from heading to the fridge or to the store to buy junk or to the fast food joints. I believed that was fooo–eeyyy! Until yesterday. There was absolutely no way anyone could have got me to the Subway instead of Mcdonald’s. My son tried. There was no way.

Could it have been that I was already to the point of famished and my mind was screaming for the fast fix of sugars from the crappy carbs, having missed my snack time? I don’t know. All I know is by the time I finished getting groceries (which cost me another $400), I couldn’t keep my eyes open and had to get my son to drive home. And this morning, I have a bunch of mini break outs on my face. And, sorry to be gross but, my regularly regular schedule to the bathroom has not happened AT ALL. So I know I will be  plagued with stomach aches all day as my body tries to rid this crap from my system. As I sit here righting this, I already feel some stomach ache going on.

Where was my halo when I needed her at the start? I think halo figured I needed to learn how to push little red right off my shoulder and head to the healthier chooses without such a struggle all the time. Or maybe, halo is just sick to death of the constant battle with little red. I just don’t know. All I know is, I am glad I stopped feeding myself and my kids that fast food garbage. We used to eat it 3 or 4 times a week and yesterday was the first time in about 5 or 6 months and it sure wasn’t worth it.

Categories: healthy eating
  1. October 10, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Or, perhaps halo knew that it would be more effective if you were to eat the McDonald’s food and suffer a bit because of it. You will probably remember it better next time.

    I don’t know why we do this. I am the same way. I do think it has something to do with allowing ourselves to become famished, which affects our judgement. Perhaps if you see something like that coming on, you could carry a low fat cheese stick or a few almonds with you.

  2. October 10, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Live and learn, right? 😉 I can’t eat fast food, makes me literally sick…. I remember after about 2 months of healthy & clean eating, hubby brought me home a donuts from Timmies, and it looked soooo good, well I ate it, and regreted it for 2 days! I felt SO sick from all the sugar & fat, I sure learned my lesson!

  3. October 11, 2009 at 12:29 am

    this is soooo true! a few years ago i took a leave of eating any red meat whatsoever, and only lean meat like fish and poultry – I found that after only a short time I would get sick if I even had beef broth – our bodies are amazing, thay jaut adapt to whatever lifestyle we indroduce them to – so way to go!! your body reacted like one that is acustomed to healthier foods – that’s a huge compliment!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

