Home > nature, running > What Fall?

What Fall?

Autumn is my favorite time of year because of all the beautiful colors. I even enjoy walking or running and having the leaves fall off of the trees around me. I love the crunching sounds the leaves make while I run through them. And once in a while, I will still stop to pick up that perfect looking pine cone.

This year however, we were ripped off of our autumn. The leaves turned yellow while it was still summer and with a weeks worth of high winds, they were all blown off the trees. Then the snow came at the start of October instead of at the end like a normal year. So the trees are all bare and the leaves all wet from the snow and no crunching sounds to be heard while out running. Each day is overcast and cold and even though the snow has for now melted, it is freezing and at a constant chance for more snow. I am still running outside right now as I want to prolong my boring treadmill for as long as possible.

Since there are no fall colors outdoors for me to enjoy, I brought some indoors:

Fall bouquet

This reminds me that I should pull out my halloween decorations for the house. I haven’t decorated in a couple of years because I keep forgetting and the days fly by so fast. I am thinking I should dress up for halloween for work this year. I haven’t done that since the kids were little and it sure would make my youngest one happy. Plus, it will add a little fun to the work day.

Do you guys dress up for Halloween for work? Or for trick or treating with the kids?

Categories: nature, running
  1. October 23, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Oh how I wish we had fall here. I live in Florida where the leaves stay the same all year long. B-o-r-i-n-g.

    I don’t dress up for work, but for the last two years I did dress up when we went with the kids. I was a witch in ’07 (complete with green face makeup and all) and last year I was Obama. LOL I wanted to dress up like a baby this year, but oldest daughter is now 13 and claims she’ll be too “embarrassed” if I do. I might do it just to torture her. 😉

  2. October 23, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Our Fall isn’t shaping up so well either, although there are some really pretty trees near my office. It was nice seeing them today.

  3. Ron
    October 24, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Even tho, we have had a lot of rainy gloomy days this fall, this past week we have seen alot of color in the trees, just wish the sun would be shining on them. Sounds like your doing great!

  4. ptg1002
    October 25, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Yea, our fall is sucking as well…today turned out to be a nice day, which was surprising, but considering we only had about a week of “real” summer (temps above 70degrees!), I’m not holding my breath.

    Good for you in getting out there!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

