Home > C25K, running, Wii games > Are they crazy?

Are they crazy?

Yesterday I went out for my C25K week 5 day 3 run. Now I have to ask. What the heck is with the switch from 8 min running segments in week 5 day 2, to a straight 20 min run? It is nuts! Crazy!!

I headed out with NO idea what week 5 day 3 was all about. When I heard DJ Beatsmith tell me it was a straight 20 min run, I almost headed back home to the comfort of the couch. 20 mins? There is NO way. This attitude in my head I know contributed to how my run went. From the get go at the start of the running segment, I was sure, absolutely certain that this would be my last run, the run that would finally kill me. I thought of how it was a shame that I had left my cell phone at home and my poor DD would have to go to the nearest STRANGERS house to call for an ambulance when I dropped. 2, 3 mins in and my feet were dragging, my breathing almost non existant. About 5 mins in I was whining like a baby. And by the end of the 20 mins, I am sure there are witnesses that could attest to a rabid female running the streets of town what with the frothing at my mouth. W-A-T-E-R!  W-A-T-E-R! And believe me, I complained to who ever would listen to the injustice of the 8 min segments to a straight 20 min run. But, guess what folks? It didn’t kill me. I am alive and once again hydrated and now, after the fact, very proud  that I did indeed run the full 20 mins straight.

For those of you that care, here is a visual of my run:

Nov1run

Does anyone know how to calculate the 7:42/km into mins/mile?

And here is a pick of my mini me motivator from Nike. She is animated but, I couldn’t capture that.

nikeminime

nikeminime2

And here is a pic of my balance when I did my Wii fit balance test at just after 5 am this morning.

Nov0209

Freaky that my balance can be so centered when I had just woken up, am still have asleep,  no morning coffee,and it’s 5 am! I don’t want to say how much it said I weighed today. Just know that I know that it is water gain from 1) got a visit from Tom,  2) I, by choice, had some delicious, super salty potato chips and a can of coke  instead of candy on Halloween night, and 3) a 20 min run which sapped every drop of water from my shocked body.

So today I am off to see what week 6 day 1 of C25K has in store for me. I won’t forget to take my cell phone! 🙂

Categories: C25K, running, Wii games
  1. November 2, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    They may be crazy, but you are awesome! Great job!

    By the way, here is a converting tool.

    • November 3, 2009 at 10:39 am

      Thanks so much Steve! Now I can see what my pace is like compared to others, km being shorter than miles and since mins/mile seems to be the standard in pace measurements.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

