Home > healthy eating, new veggies tried, veggies > My newest vegetable experiment.

My newest vegetable experiment.

image To those that may not know, this is a picture of leeks. I have never, ever had a leek before. On of my favourite magazines, Oxygen, has an article about stay slim soups for healthy winter eating. One of the ingredients is leeks. The soup looked so yummy and being tired and cold for days with this wintery weather, I decided that last night was the perfect night to give this soup, and leeks, a try. The recipe called for fish but, not being to fond of fish, I substituted the fish with chicken breast chunks. I also substituted cauliflower for the zucchini since I found out the one I had in the fridge, was no good.

So in a nut shell, here is how I made my winter soup which varies a bit from the one in Oxygen magazine. For the true recipe, check out the December 2009 issue of Oxygen magazine. (I checked the magazines site for the recipe to link to it but, the recipe isn’t up on the site yet.)

  • 4 diced up and cooked small, chicken breasts
  • 4 fair sized leeks, chopped and washed well
  • couple of cups of left over cauliflower
  • 4 large handfuls of spinach
  • 2 cups of chopped broccoli
  • 2 tetra packs of chicken broth
  • garlic, parsley, oregano, salt and pepper to taste

I sautéed the leeks and broccoli until a little bit tender. I added the cauliflower until warm and then added the chicken broth and chicken breast chunks. I then added in the spices to taste, added in the spinach and simmered for about 10 minutes to blend the flavours. Delicious! Goes great with garlic bread.

So my first experience with leeks was a good one. I definitely like them and will have them again. The rest of my family seemed to be fine with them too so they are keepers. I thought they smelled and tasted kind of like chives, with a hint more of an onion scent. Very mild and nice.

  1. November 25, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    It is funny to see you post this. My wife and I were just wondering what leeks tasted like. 🙂

  2. November 28, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever even heard of them before now! Glad you enjoyed the soup – I think I’ll add this to my list of foods to try.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

