Home > C25K, nature, running > Can I learn to like winter?

Can I learn to like winter?

Due to a lack of sleep Friday night, and most of the day spent reorganizing my house (plus wanting to watch UFC finale last evening with hubby), I decided to take the day of from a workout. I really was tired all day and a little bit crabby so it wasn’t hard to avoid my workout. Today I will workout earlier, before I hit that later in the day lazy mode, and finish my week 8 of C25K. Yes!  (Then maybe a nap in my cozy fleece sheets! 🙂 ).

Very stinking cold here! And tons of snow. I really don’t like winter at all. It’s funny how as a child and teenager, I always said that I would never stay to live in a place that gets cold and snowy in the winter. And what do I do? I marry someone who hates the heat and would move into the Northwest territories to have the cooler, colder, snowier weather all year, in a heart beat, if I would go too. No way!

I have decided though that, after Christmas, I might give cross country skiing a try. I miss going to our outdoor trails for biking and hiking and outdoor workouts all around. As a child, I would cross country ski in the fields by my grandparents house whenever I visited. My youngest daughter and my son said that they would be willing to give it a try with me. Maybe we can find a way to like winter after all. All I need to do now is find a place that rents skis. 🙂

What do you do to enjoy the snowy winter months? Or at least to get by them?

Categories: C25K, nature, running
  1. December 6, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I used to absolutely love winter. That was before I was getting out exercising in it. Of course, add in shorter days and I really struggle with it. I have no advice other that keep our eyes upon spring. Just think, it won’t be long until the days start getting longer again. I cannot wait!

  2. December 7, 2009 at 11:02 am

    no snow here in sunny SW Florida! Good on you for wanting to cross country ski!

    PS I love the snow on your blog! That’s awesome!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

