Home > Uncategorized > Bad luck does happen in threes…..

Bad luck does happen in threes…..

Thursday Dec 17—- I will start off by saying how I headed out to find that I had a completely flat rear tire. Crap! I kept my son home from school (he only had a half day anyways) to give me a hand with the flat. We decided it would be better to go get the flat fixed at the local tire shop than to put on my spare since I needed to go to the city (still not done Christmas shopping! What do you get a 15 year old boy anyways who doesn’t play video games?) and the tread on the spare is different, not a winter tire  and, the roads are so slippery, I didn’t need any help tread wise. They fixed my flat in record time. It was apparently a bead seal that was broken, which takes us to two days before………

Monday Dec 14— Doing pretty great with the Christmas shopping with my dad in the city. Roads are pretty slick. I was heading done a straight street, going slower than usual due to the slippery roads when for no reason, I was going sideways into on coming traffic. Amazingly, and I believe it was Gods doing here, there was a break in the traffic from all directions. Good thing as the more I tried to get control of my jeep, the more it kept going sideways this way, then that way. Finally I gave up and my jeep did two or three 360’s in the middle of the road and slid full speed sideways into a lamp post. Thank God! the snow bank against the post was thick enough and high enough (it was up to my window) that we came out of the damage free. Not a scratch, or dent or piece of plastic fender broken off. Not a lick of damage, or so I thought…………..

Thursday Dec 17—–My son explained that the bead seal had probably broken by the force of my jeep hitting the snow bank sideways. Okay, at least it was fixed and I was ready to go. I picked up my friend, who was coming to the city for the very first time with me, and who does not ever drive in the city herself. We are about 3/4 of the way there driving down the highway when I hear a thunking, flapping sort of noise. Crap! I have a flat again. We get out and check and there is absolutely NO flat tires. Weird. Maybe it it ice build up in the inside of the tire area causing my tires to be unbalanced, and I will wash it out later. We keep on going and the thunking is so load and scary we stopped at the first safe gas station we could get to. Something told me to check the tire lug nuts. They were FINGER LOOSE! One frickin fell off when I touched it!. I was freaking out and not really sure what to do about it. We tightened the nuts but were sure that it probably needed to be jacked up to make sure the tire was fully on. And what if it was damaged.

I have a fantastic hubby. I called him and he immediately left work to come help. Good thing as the threading on the bolts had gotten worn down from the rim hitting and rubbing them for the 40 mins it took to drive there. My hubby hobbled my jeep home and went straight to the guys who fixed my tire. They replaced everything that was screwed on my jeep from f%@k up with the tire and they bought both my friend and I a rose bowl. They would like to see me to apologize but, right now I just can’t accept their apology. My friend and I could have been killed. I know the right thing would be to forgive but, I just can’t right now. They stress finally caught up with me last night and I have been up, unable to sleep and feeling physically ill. I am also afraid of driving today (I need to go and finish shopping and deal with my sons broken cell phone) so that isn’t helping. Winter driving has always scared me but with this weeks events, I am freaking scared!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 18, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Someone is watching out for you this week.

    I know how hard it is to go an accept the apology, but when you get to the point you can, you should. I am sure it was with no ill intent, even though it is something that could have been truly disastrous.

    • December 18, 2009 at 6:52 am

      Yeah, I know it was with no ill intent. Workers need to slow down and make sure that things are done right, especially when it is a safety issue. Everyone is always in such a hurry!

  2. December 18, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Wow…that is some horrible luck right there 😦

    I’m glad you are okay and nothing happened though, definitely be careful if you do decide to venture out though. I hate winter driving too, and we’re supposed to get a huge snowstorm this weekend (UGH!)

  3. Ron
    December 18, 2009 at 8:09 am

    very scary indeed, however accept the apology and be so so thankful that nothing bad happened becasue of it.

  4. December 18, 2009 at 8:51 am

    That is scary! Thank goodness you caught that before you had an accident.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

