Home > challenge, home workouts, New Year 100 mile challenge, NROLW, perfect 10 challenge, running > The Perfect 10 Challenge and New Year 100 mile challenge.

The Perfect 10 Challenge and New Year 100 mile challenge.

Both of the challenges I joined for the New Year start today. They are the ‘Perfect 10’ challenge and the ‘New Year 100 mile’ challenge. Wow, I am in for some hard work and some fun. I find that participating in challenges helps to keep me motivated and keep me accountable to myself. Some days are still very hard but, when I am struggling, my blogging friends are always there to help. Today is the day that my goals for the Perfect 10 challenge need to be posted. I had to really think about them.

Here are my goals for ‘The Perfect 10’ challenge which lasts 10 weeks:

  1. Lose 8-10 lbs. (starting weight 156 lbs)
  2. run 5 kms or more at least 2 times per week
  3. finish 5 weeks of the Gateway to 8 k program. (the program is 10 weeks but, I know I will need to repeat some weeks so 5 weeks is sufficient and it will correspond with #2)
  4. get started on a weight training routine. I am thinking of starting again with NROLW.

I think these goals fit in with the S.M.A.R.T concept (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely) except for maybe # 4. I am giving myself the whole 10 weeks to actually get started on it where in reality, I would like to get started right away. My start time will depend on my level of energy through out the first few weeks of my challenges and my work exhaustion.

As for my New Year 100 mile challenge, it will also correspond with goal # 2 and #3 of the Perfect 10 since I will need to run 100 miles in the month of January. That will be a lot of weekly miles. Hopefully I will have a nice rear end that looks great in my yoga pants and a few more lbs gone by the time I have finished all those miles! 😉

Check in here each Friday for updates on the Perfect 10 challenge. Leave your comments to let me know how you think I am doing and any suggestions you might have. I will also update my New Year 100 mile whenever I have made some progress which you can also check out on Daily Burn under the 265 and falling New Year 100 mile challenge.

edit: I decided to have a weigh-in this morning for a fresh weight to start my New Year with and to start my challenges with. I originally had 157 as my starting weight but, today’s weigh-in was at 156 lbs.

  1. Ron
    January 1, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Happy New Year to you. Hope you have a great 2010 !

    • January 1, 2010 at 9:36 am

      Happy New Year to you too Ron. I know you will have a great one.

  2. January 1, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Great goals if you ask me. #4 is somewhat like one of mine. I know I need to start something, but that is all I can commit to right now. Nevertheless, we are going to make this a Perfect 10!

    • January 1, 2010 at 9:38 am

      I know we can do it Steve! This will be a great challenge to start off a great year!

  3. January 2, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Awesome Karyn! I’ll have to check that 100 mile challenge out. I’ve set a goal for 100 miles but that’s spread over 10 weeks and not a month, lol. Hoping you had a great Christmas and wishing you nothing but success in 2010!!!

  4. January 3, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    All the best for your goals, Karyn! We’re off to a GREAT start for 2010! A 100 miles just for January? Wow, that’s going to rock – good luck with such a great goal!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

