Home > C25K, challenge, home workouts, perfect 10 challenge, running, weigh-in > Perfect 10 week 1 update!

Perfect 10 week 1 update!

Already it is time for the first update in the Perfect 10 Challenge! Wow, how time is flying by.

Here are my goals for ‘The Perfect 10′ challenge which lasts 10 weeks:

  1. Lose 8-10 lbs. (starting weight 156 lbs) — weigh in this morning showed a 1.7 lb gain. I have had alot of  salt the past couple of days plus, I am expecting a visitor this week so it is most likely water weight.
  2. run 5 kms or more at least 2 times per week— done! 3 times!
  3. finish 5 weeks of the Gateway to 8 k program. (the program is 10 weeks but, I know I will need to repeat some weeks so 5 weeks is sufficient and it will correspond with #2)— finished week one! Tough!
  4. get started on a weight training routine. I am thinking of starting again with NROLW.–waiting for my son to bring my weights in from the garage. Believe me, our garage is NOT the place for a lady to be! LOL 😉

I think so far I am doing okay. I am hoping to see a drop in my weight next week. Another factor could be that I have been eating steel cut oats for breakfast some mornings and past experience with oats have proven to cause weight gain for me. If no decrease happens in the next week, oats will have to go!

One of the things required to participate in the challenge is that each week with each update, we have to reveal something to our blogging community/friends that they do not already know about us. Steve suggested that this weeks could be about what we wanted to be when we grew up. So here goes:

When I was young, I really wanted to be an indy car driver. That is all I wanted to do. I thought racing a car and making money doing it would be the most exciting and thrilling career. And wouldn’t you know it but, once I was old enough to learn to drive, I was way to TERRIFIED to even learn. I did not learn how to drive until I was 24 years old and had no choice but to learn because I had 2 kids and a truck driver husband who was not around at dr. appointment times and grocery trips.

So there it is. I can’t wait to go and catch up on each one of you involved in the challenge to see how you are doing and to learn something new about you!

  1. January 8, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    You’re doing GREAT, Karyn! Aren’t we the lucky ones, having to contend with water retention once a month? I’m hoping that this means next week you’re going to be surprised at your REAL weight (as I’m hoping it for myself! =)

    Wow, indy car driving – speed freaks me out. I also learned to drive fairly late in my life. But wow, what a buzz being independent, going where you want to go!

    Good luck for week 2 of the Perfect 10!

  2. January 8, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Wouldn’t it be cool to be riding WITH a Nascar driver sometime?

    http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/09358/1023302-233.stm

  3. January 9, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Well done on your goals

    I have decided that the crimson visitor must stop being an excuse for weight gain. I need to try and lose inspite of her and it may be a smaller loss then if she wasnt there but it must be a loss, even 100g. I personally need it 🙂

  4. January 9, 2010 at 6:20 am

    I think Christy is right, it would probably be great fun for you to go ride with an Nascar driver sometime. It looks like you are doing good so far – now have your son bring those weights in! 🙂

  5. January 9, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    An Indy Car driver, eh? How cool would THAT have been?!?!

    Great job w/ your goals, you are owning this.

  6. January 11, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Wow, gateway to 8k sounds grueling! I might have to try it if I can ever conquer the 5k! LOL Looks like you had a great week overall, Karyn! I’m curious to see how you like NROLW, I’ve heard a lot of great things about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

