Week 2 challenge updates.

The Perfect 10 Challenge

Week 2 Update (Jan 15/10)

  1. Lose 8-10 lbs. (starting weight 156 lbs)–my weigh in this morning revealed a weight of  154.5 lbs. So a 1-1/2 lb loss since the start of the challenge.
  2. run 5 kms or more at least 2 times per weekfinished 4 times this week.
  3. finish 5 weeks of the Gateway to 8 k program. (the program is 10 weeks but, I know I will need to repeat some weeks so 5 weeks is sufficient and it will correspond with #2)–finished week 2 yesterday. Tough week with the 8 min run intervals and 1 min walk. I find it much easier to just run straight through without the walking breaks. I am also not happy with my speed. My running this week was only at 5.5 mph. running at 6mph was just way too tough. I am hoping it was because of my coming down with illness for 2 days.
  4. get started on a weight training routine. I am thinking of starting again with NROLW.–still haven’t started. still planning too.

That is it in a nut shell. Just chugging along doing my best. As for something that you guys don’t know about me, hum, let me think.

Okay, here it goes:

I want more than anything to live in Hawaii. The sun, the heat, the beaches, the ocean, the beauty. I would move there right this second if I could. My hubby won’t even take me there. He won’t set foot on a plane. He is afraid of the volcanoes. So I am stuck here in Canada (which I do love) in my small town. I know there are those of you out there that would say that Hawaii is no great place to live but, some can say that about anywhere. Some love places and others hate them. It is all in personal preference.

I have always wanted and felt since child hood that that is where I should be. Where I am now, doesn’t feel right. Like I am in the wrong place at the wrong time, like I don’t belong where I am in my life at this time in my life.

New Year 100 mile challenge

Other than my 2 days of illness, I have been working my ass off in this challenge. At the moment I am at a total of 43.16 mile run out of 100. Once I am done my workout today, I am hoping to be at the 50 mile mark, even if I need to walk some of it. Half way at half way mark of the challenge. It is tough, especially for someone who isn’t use to running those kinds of miles. At least it is keeping me running at least 5k each time which helps with one of my goals in another challenge and it will help for when I enter a 5k race.

  1. Ron
    January 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    You too ? Hawaii is where I belong. I have been to 4 of the islands and have been going over their every year for the past 5 years, however I am not sure I will make it this year… Congrats on your progress and weight loss!

  2. January 15, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    Great job! If you have any questions on NROLW – let me know!

  3. January 15, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Wow, I would LOVE to live in Hawaii too. I can relate to feeling ‘out of place’ in your own home. I live in Florida now, but would give anything to move to either NC or TN. I hope someday your dream gets realized, even if for only a vacation with or without hubby.

    Congrats on the loss and for being halfway through the 100 mile challenge! You ROCK!

  4. January 15, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Sounds like you might need to take a girl’s vacay to Hawaii with some friends. Just because hubby doesn’t want to go doesn’t mean you never can!

    Great job on the goals!

  5. January 15, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    I have always had this terrible fascination with Hawaii too; however, I was disappointed in it when I went. It wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy it, but it didn’t live up to my spectacular expectations. I need to go back and try it again though. I hope you get your opportunity some time.

  6. January 17, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    I think Hawaii would be great too, anyplace warmer than Maryland would be awesome, but Hawaii is beautiful.

    Great job w/ your goals so far, and you are kicking butt in the 100mile challenge. I need to get on the ball w/ it 😛

  7. January 17, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Hey some friends of mine booked a CRUISE to Hawaii… maybe that would be an option for you some day. Although I guess you might have to fly to get to the cruiseport. I think you should put that on your bucket list even if you have to get a friend to go with. Good job on your P10 goals!

  8. January 18, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    I’m with you on the fascination of Hawaii, Karyn! And I agree with Helen: go with a friend if you can’t go with your hubby. Good job on Week 2 and GOOD LUCK with Week 3!

  9. January 19, 2010 at 4:11 am

    you are doing great!

  10. January 19, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I so love Hawaii too! I love the Big Island & Kauai second. Amazing & beautiful place! I have not been there in a couple years though… no $$! 😦

    Congrats on your hard work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

