Home > Uncategorized > Week 3 challenge updates.

Week 3 challenge updates.

Week 3 Perfect 10 Challenge Update

  1. Lose 8-10 lbs. (starting weight 156 lbs)–unfortunately I am back up to 156.1. I believe it is from all the birthday celebration treats and eating out this week. I am also sick and can only stomach a few crackers ( which is total weight gain foods for me unfortunately). Will up my water intake once my nausea and vomiting have stopped enough to stomach the water.
  2. run 5 kms or more at least 2 times per week–done 3 times this week.
  3. finish 5 weeks of the Gateway to 8 k program. (the program is 10 weeks but, I know I will need to repeat some weeks so 5 weeks is sufficient and it will correspond with #2)–did not work on week 3 this week. will work on it for the next week.
  4. get started on a weight training routine. I am thinking of starting again with NROLW.–not yet. bring my weights in, darn it!!

As for something about myself you don’t know:

I have severe claustrophobia.  😦  To the point where I can’t even have the bathroom door closed when I am in there. It is a good thing that my children are old enough now to choose NOT to see their mother in her natural state and stays away from that end of the house when I am in there! 😳 And I get extreme vertigo when I need to close the shower doors when having a shower. Very risky business to have a shower! If our bedroom door needs to be closed (our room is off of the living room), then I need the bedroom window open so I can feel the draft or the cold to know that I am not trapped. Not good for the heating bill in the winter. Winter gear is a big problem also. All the bulk and bundle sets off my claustrophobic attacks so, I don’t even own a winter coat. I spend a lot of time indoors during the winter months because of this. Being in a car is a problem when the windows are closed. Things like that. I do know exactly when my claustrophobia first hit me but, I don’t understand why or why it has stuck with me since.

I was 13 years old sleeping on the top bunk in my grandparents motor home when camping one summer. I always slept on the top bunk, would never let my sister have a turn. My grandmother came to me and gave me the news that my great grandmother on my fathers side whom I loved with ALL my heart, had had a heart attack and passed away. I was on the top bunk at the time and instantly I couldn’t breathe. Since that moment, claustrophobia has been a major player in my life.

New Year 100 mile Challenge

my current miles for the month are 59.95 miles. I still have a ways to go. I am unfortunately sick with something today (vomiting and migraines) so that has hampered my progress. Two days of sick leave from work will hopefully get me back in shape to get back to my running!

I am very much looking forward to spending the day reading up on your Perfect 10 progress and learning more about all of you guys. I am having a sick day from work today  so I have plenty of time to catch up.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 22, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Wow, Karyn, reading what caused your claustrophobia brought a tear to my eye and I just wanted to hug that little girl on the top bunk. I can only imagine the frustration this type of fear can bring, especially living where you live with the cold and all. I don’t blame you for wanting to live in Hawaii, or at least on a beach somewhere! So free and open. Hopefully someday!

    • January 22, 2010 at 8:03 pm

      yes, it is very frustrating. Maybe once the kids are on their own, I might be able to convince hubby to move? Fingers crossed.

  2. January 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    UGH on that sickness & the vomiting! I hope you feel better soon!!!!

    That story – wow… so sorry! I know there are ways to try to get over this but don’t know the specifics. Maybe you can research to see if that would help.

    YES, bring in the weights! I would say that, right! :-(.

    Feel better!

    • January 22, 2010 at 8:04 pm

      I am feeling much, much, better. I jumped right back into clean eating this morning when hungry and I think that has helped.

      Chant: bring in the weights! bring in the weights! 🙂

  3. January 22, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    The origination of your claustrophobia is intriguing. Not that it happened, but that it has stuck with you. I hope you start feeling better soon and have a great week!

  4. January 22, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    PS: I meant to put a happy face after my weights comment.. obviously! Love your new chant!

  5. Ron
    January 23, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Hope you get to feeling better real soon!

  6. January 23, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I am so glad you are ready to squeeze and push iron again. It will help you meet your goals Karyn. The ‘new rules’ aren’t at all new, but if you are new to lifting you might find some use in the book.

    Speaking as a clinical-psychologist-in-recovery, I’d say your claustrophobia would be relatively straight forward for change given the very specific onset. Seeing how it affects your life, it might be time to seek assistance.

    Your running is brilliant! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

