Ready to start…

with my resistance training! Today I headed to the city to hunt around for deals on weight sets and then head to the gym to have a run on the track. This is what I came home with that I found at Wal-mart:

It is only a total amount of eighty lbs but, I have a variety of sizes, and that is plenty enough weight to get started with for myself and my son.  The ones I already had were the fat plastic ones, 4–15 lb ers and 2–10 lbs ers. Not enough variety for increasing weight amounts and not good for the dumbbell. I could not only increase by 2.5 or 5 lbs. The new weights are the thinner cast iron ones which both hubby and I love. Plus I have the dumbbells. I am so excited to get started!! 🙂 I don’t know when I will get started though because hubby has his ass on fire all of a sudden to get the house painted while both my son and I are off of school and work this week. (our house has been in semi reno stage for ever!)

I also invested in a new pair of running shoes:

They are  Saucony . Lori had asked the question on her blog about whether her readers were brand loyal in their shoes for running . Most of her readers said that they loved Saucony’s. I have always worn Mizuno’s but the store wasn’t carrying them today when I went shopping. And I sure wasn’t in the mood to drive all over the city on the slippery roads to hunt some down. So I decided to give the Saucony’s a try. They feel awesome on my feet, comfy, supportive, not much different than my Mizuno’s usually do. Only problem is, when I went running in them today, by the time I was done, my feet and legs hurt. Is that because they are brand new and hadn’t been worked in to my feet yet? Or because my first run in them was on the track at the gym which is a surface I am not used to running on?

Another thing I don’t understand is why  running on the track at the gym just kills me! At home I can run 5k straight no problem. At the gym, for get it. 1 or 2k and then I need to walk for a while. 1 or 2k more and I need to walk. Why is that? Maybe I run faster on the track than at home on my treadmill? Maybe the little bit of cushiony give the track surface has is more like running through a layer of sand making it harder? I don’t know. I think I may go back  tomorrow and work at it again.

And wow, am I ever out of swimming shape! 😦 Two laps and my arms want to fall off and I am huffing and puffing! LOL It has been a long time since I have gone actual swimming. Water slides don’t count. All you are doing is going for a ride. 🙂

Now I off to check out my favorite blogs then figure out what colors I want to paint my living room, dining room and kitchen! Talk about stress! LOL.

  1. January 27, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Thats a nifty little weight set you got there! WooT to that.

    UnWooT to painting though, I hate painting 😦

    The lady at the running store last night said treadmills can be decieving b/c you aren’t setting your own pace, so maybe thats one of the culprits. It’s alot harder for me to run outside or on a track than on a treadmill too. I love the treadmill, but I’m still want to get into more outside running.

    I miss swimming, I’m half tempted to sign up at a local gym just so that I can do it.

    • January 27, 2010 at 10:06 am

      UnWoot! to painting for sure! I hate, hate it too. Unfortunately, my son and I are the ones at home this week so we are stuck getting ready for painting and doing the painting. And seriously, I can’t paint to save my life! 😦

  2. January 27, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Congrats on the weights. It’s always exciting to get started on a new exercise routine. 🙂

  3. January 28, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Congrats on the new weights and shoes! That’s awesome Karyn! Go you!

  4. January 28, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Great weight set! Looks like it’ll tuck out of the way easily too! Love your new shoes!! 🙂 Let me know if you end up needing help with the ‘bars’… i’ll give you my ‘widget’ code and tell you where to change things around!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

