Influenced.

Well, my friend Carla, from My half dozen daily, has been having her green monster smoothies again for breakfast since the weather there has started to warm up. Seeing her lovely pics of her green monsters has influenced me to pull back out my blender and get back into the smoothies myself.

This is my smoothie this morning.

I think that this is the first time that my green monster has actually been green. Usually it is an ugly brown or purple because of the frozen berries I usually put in it. Today though, I skipped the berries and instead used these:

2 handfuls of spinach

a banana

a chopped apple

2 tbs of milled flax

1/3 cup of fat free, sugar free vanilla yogurt

1 cup of skim milk

It was delicious!! A little warmer than I like because I didn’t use ice and didn’t think to use a frozen banana. Delicious none the less. 🙂

I am having a much better day today dad wise. I still felt depressed after opening my eyes this morning and did not want to get up and start my day. But, once up, I felt much better. I think I am coming down with the nasty cold my youngest daughter had last week as I have a headache I can’t get rid of and feel crappy in my sinuses, plus extra tired. That is not good since I am supposed to be starting back to work next week. Ugghhh.

  1. Ron
    March 11, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    I have never tried to make a green smoothie.. gonna have to give it a try!

    • March 11, 2010 at 4:56 pm

      Delicious! You don’t even taste the spinach if you use sweeter fruits. 🙂

  2. March 11, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    My green smoothies usually don’t turn out green, either. 🙂 I’ve had red, orange, purple, and brown a few times, but not green.

    Sucks about the cold. Hope you get to feeling better soon!

  3. March 11, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    I have blogged about green smoothies, I have read about them BUT I have not had one…. yet…. not sure if I will. I don’t do smoothies very much anymore like when I was younger. I use my protein powder in other things but not too many smoothies right now. Everyone raves about them!

  4. March 11, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    I have had a better day the last couple of days too, although I had one of those “hit you square between the eyes” moments today. Day by day it is getting better though.

  5. March 11, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    I’m so hooked on these things again.. lol! My smoothie today was a beautiful purple! My Green Monsters are rarely green either, but something to strive for sometimes! 😉 LOL! Try to rest & take it easy so you don’t get full blown sick… lots of stress right now for you so your immune system is probably down. Feel better soon! Hugs!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

