Training…

So after a couple of comments on yesterday’s post about adding no more than 10% of my previous weeks miles to my new weekly miles, I calculated out what I have been running each week to be 10.2 miles. So 1 new mile this week will be 10% which will be perfect. I gave a 4 mile trial run on Friday and it was perfect. I did how ever have to make and emergency stop at the porta potty in the kids play ground about half way through. (note to self: don’t eat so much fiber on run days!! LOL) Thank God for the porta potty! LOL ๐Ÿ™‚

I am still confused however about whether I should be running the 4 miles each run now or only for a long run onceย ย ย ย ย  perย  week. I will need to check out some of the 1/2 marathon training plans online and see how it is done. Confusing! I am not worried about speed right now, just being able to do the miles. I am not out there to win it, just to make myself proud of doing it. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

As for my resistance training, I have finished 3 sessions now and am really, really starting to enjoy it again. For me it is always a uuugghhh! do I have to when it is time to get started but, once I do, and how great I feel after wards, it is SO worth it. I will need to use my blogger friends, the web, and my books to find the at home versions of some of the movements for the days that I can’t make it to the gym. For hubby it is easy to get there each day as he needs to goย  through the city to get home and can stop at the gym on his way. For me, it requires a 40 min drive from our small town to the city, and then home again. Not always so fun or convenient! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I am off now to check out some training plans for the 1/2 and to finish catching up on your blogs. And any more advice or tips for my training from you guys would be great. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. March 13, 2010 at 11:35 am

    OK, love the Homer pic! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like you are doing great! I have to read your previous post since it seems a half marathon is in your future! WOW! I am sure there is a lot of info on the web! Love that you do the weights too! So important!

    Keep up the great work. It pays off!

  2. Thermy
    March 13, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Good luck with the half training! I’ve heard good things about Hal Higdon’s training plans.

    • March 13, 2010 at 11:35 pm

      I actually decided to use Hal’s as his is basically what I was looking to do. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. March 14, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Wish I could help, but I’m a noob! LOL Good luck!

  4. March 15, 2010 at 7:52 am

    I think I covered it pretty well on the precious post. You will need to get your mileage up if you want to run a half without walking a lot of it, but go SLOW. Many people injure themselves if they push too fast with their training. You can probably double what you can do in training for a race day. So you need to get where you can do “6+” miles. You will probably want to do a 5K race first before the half, then a 10K. Remember this also, when you do a race DO NOT start off to fast. Let the others run ahead, it will feel much better to pass them later rather than the other way around.

    Learn to do bodyweight exercises at home when you can’t get to the gym, or buy a small dumbbell set and use those with the bodyweight exercises.

  5. March 16, 2010 at 8:38 am

    I also love the Homer picture! You’re doing great! I’m excited to watch your progress.

    Oh, and and the porta potty? Sounds like a blessing! I’ve been there before, and it does NOT make for an enjoyable run, huh? ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

