Home > random stuff, resistance training, running > 2010–the year of trauma!

2010–the year of trauma!

Honestly, how much more can my family take? 2010 has turned out to be the year of trauma! Yesterday, we were informed that my father in law had a stroke on Sunday night. It was mild. But, we now don’t know where he is. He left the hospital on his own sometime in the night or early morning and has not been seen since. He doesn’t answer his cell. We don’t know if he is alright or not. We think that he is freaking out over having a stroke as we just lost my dad to a stroke and my dad and my father in law were good friends. We think he is freaking out and “running” away so to speak to deal with it on his own. ( that is what my hubby is like too) But, we are scared because haven’t heard from him and don’t know if he is okay. My hubby is holding out well since there is nothing we can do right now but, we are trying to prepare in case. So today was a very raw day for me emotionally and mentally.

On to some better stuff, I am keeping up with my workouts and my resistance training. As I am lifting weights, I am cursing it the whole time but, once done, proud of having finished it. Plus, it makes me feel great. It is really nice to be able to work out with my husband, we encourage and motivate each other. The weather is so totally spring and makes for fantastic outdoor runs!!

Hope everyone is doing well and not having as bad of a start to the year as my family is. Take care of yourselves and each other and spend quality time with your families.

  1. March 16, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Oh (((Karyn))) I’m so sorry about FIL!! I hope he’ll be ok! Your year so far sounds like mine last year.. was absolutely horrible. I was more than ready to say goodbye to 2009! Hang in there! Hugs!!

  2. March 16, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Oh no! Sending a prayer for your father in law, and for your family as a whole. Hopefully he will find a safe place to take refuge and will be reunited soon. ((Karyn))

  3. March 17, 2010 at 12:19 am

    That is so not good!

  4. March 17, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Oh man. It does sound like a year of trauma so far. I hope and pray that everything will be okay. Please keep us updated. Wow. I’m so sorry you have to go through this.

  5. March 17, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    OH NO, HUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am glad you are keeping the exercise up. It really helps!!! You will be happy for that weight lifting in the long run! 🙂

    Hang in there!

  6. March 18, 2010 at 11:36 am

    It is counter intuitive during such events in your life, but it is the time to take care of yourself so that you can take care of other people. I think the workout thing makes a lot of sense to me.

  7. March 19, 2010 at 8:26 am

    I hope he’s been found safe, Karyn. My thoughts are still with you all! ❤

  8. March 19, 2010 at 9:05 am

    So sorry to hear that! I hope everything turns out okay. 🙂

  9. March 20, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Karyn, I am so sorry to read this. I hope you all have found your FIL now. You sure have been through a lot this year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

