Home > random stuff > Happy Easter

Happy Easter

easter bunny First of all I want to say ‘Happy Easter’ to all my wonderful friends out there. I hope you are all having a fantastic day with your families.

I apologize for not being around here much in the past couple of weeks. I have been really struggling lately with the loss of my dad and thought that maybe you guys could be getting  sick of hearing about my pain and sorrow all the time. I have to say that I can honestly believe that a person could die from a broken heart, as I just couldn’t believe before how broken a persons heart could be. But, I see now.

Cleaning out my dad’s home did not in any way help with my grieving. It has just managed to keep me hurting. I feel now too as if my sisters and I have completely invaded his privacy, stolen his stuff, trashed his things, though that of course is not the case. But, that is how it feels. I still have so much of his things to deal with at his home since not much managed to get done when there last weekend. I am afraid to go back again.

We returned him to his home town and revisited where he grew up, where we spent many, many wonderful weekends and summers with my grandmother and great-grandmother. I burst into tears when I set my eyes on my dad’s childhood home, and how it has changed. I always wanted to live there when I grew up and being there, I still feel like I belong. My dad is home with his mom and grand mom and aunts and uncles now. I hope he is happy and where he wants to be.

I apologize to anyone who came to visit and did not want to see a gloomy post again. But that is me right now, and it may be for awhile.  I just couldn’t give my family a special Easter dinner today. It was to painful without my dad, who was always here. They understand I think, and were happy with just a roast. I really believe I am going to struggle a lot this year on the days I know my dad would have been here. I will do my best for you guys to bring happier and cheerier posts over the next few months, I don’t want to lose my friends!

dad

Categories: random stuff
  1. April 4, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Karyn, don’t worry about whether you are talking too much about it or not. While we all grieve in different ways, and it takes different amounts of time for us to get over it, I know what you are going through. Keep moving forward. The days will get better.

  2. April 5, 2010 at 1:10 am

    It will get better.

  3. April 5, 2010 at 6:36 am

    Karyn, this s normal. I went thru this too & I think I did not wake from the fog for 2 years. Although I had lost grandparents, my dad was the first parent to pass away & it was sudden so I totally get what you are going thru. HUGS!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. April 5, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    You are a strong man and there are many people thinking about you.

    • April 5, 2010 at 1:09 pm

      Please change that to “woman.” My apologies for the error. I could not change it myself

  5. April 7, 2010 at 11:43 am

    There is absolutely positively no reason to apologize at all. We’re here for you, through thick and thin.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

