What a workout!

So my hubby and I finally made the plunge and hired ourselves a personal trainer. We have never used one before so it is definitely a new and different experience.

He has taken the workout routine that my hubby has been following from a book of his, looked it over and decided that it is a great routine for us to follow with a few tweaks here and there and the odd exercise change. It will also tweak some of the exercises to better suit me and toughen up others for my hubby.

Last night was our first workout with our trainer and let me just say,  ‘It was awesome!!’  We are learning proper technique which absolutely makes a huge difference in how well that exercise works for you. We noticed a difference in how the routine felt last night with proper technique compared to on our own. It was a very exciting and fun workout (and for the girls: not to mention that he is very nice on the eyes! 🙂 ) Every time my free weights would touch, he would make me do two more! LOL Makes you learn balance and control really quickly! LOL 😉 We have another session tomorrow and then will decide on next week. I do know that my hubby would like some one on one with him as well as our couples training.

I have been feeling like crap since my dads passing with all the stress I am under and not eating as well as I should. I have been stress eating and lots of junk to boot so it is very much time to get back to my regular workouts and eating clean. In the past week with my low immune system from stress, I managed to have a very sick day with throwing up and diahrea and now have headache and stuffy sinus. I feel like it is going to be a WHOPPER  of a cold! 😦 I started taking some vitamin supplements and extra vitamin C to help with my immune system and see if I can avoid any more or too much more down time.I haven’t had any runs in about two/three weeks now from lack of energy (from stress, lack of exercise and crappy foods obviously!) so I may need to re-evaluate whether I will be able to run the half at the end of May. Maybe one later in the summer or fall will be better for me right now.

  1. April 7, 2010 at 11:45 am

    WooT to getting a personal trainer! I have yet to do this, but I REALLY need to get on the ball with the strength training (as well as the running), and a trainer would probably be a good idea, at least to get me started.

    I hope you feel better soon, and can back to running! 🙂

  2. April 7, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Yahoo for the trainer!!!!!!!!!! Proper form is so critical not only for getting results BUT for injury prevention. I see the crazy stuff in the gym all the time… skinny little guys trying to lift too heavy weigh with bad form. Just put the ego aside, do it right & get the results! I am sure some guys see me with my light weights & think – how does she get those muscles. Well, try proper form & eating right! Can’t wait to hear more form you!

    Feel better!

  3. April 7, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    Research shows that people who use well trained personal trainers get results! You are making a mistake by not maintaining your training during this difficult period. You need the advantages that exercise and healthy eating will give you now more than ever. Take it one day at a time, and make each day work for you.

  4. April 8, 2010 at 3:58 am

    Id love love love to have a trainer and have sessions WITH my husband.

    great idea.

    that way someone else can plan and we can just DO.
    sometimes just having to DO can feel easy (ISH anyway :))

  5. April 8, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Congrats! Tina and I see our trainer together. It’s both exercise and a couples bonding experience. 🙂

  6. April 8, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Great cartoon.

  7. April 9, 2010 at 6:01 am

    This is a great idea and a great move! I hope you both enjoy it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

