New veggie…..

On my trip to Costco last week I discovered a veggie? called Edamame in the frozen vegetable section. Since I have heard the word Edamame around alot lately, I decided that this should be a new vegetable experiment in my house. After all, it has been a very long while since we have tried anything new.

I knew absolutely nothing about edamame. I found out that  Edamame is young soybeans, usually still in the pod. Ok, good enough but, I still had no idea. The back of the box said to boil the pods in salted water, or, steam your edamame, then sprinkle with a bit of sea salt. You can eat edamame hot or cold.

Then I found a caution on the box that the pods are NOT edible. Under that, there was instructions on how to eat them. To eat edamame, place the pod at your mouth, then squeeze or bite the beans into your mouth. You don’t eat the pod, just the edamame beans. I thought ‘great, what a pain in the ass to eat veggie. This will go over good with the family because it isn’t bad enough that I am throwing in a foreign food with dinner!’

Well, it turned out that the beans pop out incredible easily into your mouth and it is fun. Fun finger foods. I had a great time eating them and so did my youngest daughter. No comment from hubby but, he did take a bunch of the leftovers for his lunch today. 🙂

How did they taste? I didn’t find that they had very much taste at all, straight out of the pod. But, I still liked them and they would be even better with a little bit of butter and salt.

Nutrition info:  This food is very low in Sodium. It is also a good source of Dietary Fiber (8g/155g serving! wow!), Protein (You get 17g of protein / 155 g serving too.N ice!) , Thiamin, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus and Copper, and a very good source of Vitamin K, Folate and Manganese.   A nutrition table and more info can be found at found at Nutritiondata.com

So all in all, we did enjoy our new veggie experiment and will definitely include edamame in our healthy eating lifestyle. Now to head off and check out some recipe ideas for the edamame.

Anyone else enjoy edamame? Any good edamame recipe ideas?

  1. May 5, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I remember when I first had edamame at a restaurant. Sooooo good! I get it every time I go to a Japanese place. I don’t use it much at home, but I should. Good veggie choice! 🙂

  2. May 5, 2010 at 11:51 am

    The go-to sauce for edamame for many of us is soy sauce…the perfect blend of salt and flavor:) I work with Seapoint Farms, we manufacture and distribute edamame to stores across the country. I’m am glad you have discovered the Wonder Veggie, it is definitely a great healthy snack. Keep us posted if you try it with any recipes.

  3. May 5, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    I mix my edamame with fresh lemon juice, roasted garlic, and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. You can also puree edamame and use it as a base for dips and sandwich spreads.

    • May 6, 2010 at 5:22 am

      Ooo, the roasted garlic and parmesan cheese sound delicious to go with the edamame. Giving it a try for sure! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

