okay with it…

…my decision not the run the half marathon. I would have run it on Sunday the 23rd. I thought that once the day rolled by, I would be pissed at myself for not giving it a try. But I did know that I wasn’t in the right place for it in my head, or heart. I am so okay with it that my run yesterday was awesome, faster that usual, like I was free. I am thinking that the pressure of trying to train for it as well as grief I am feeling over the loss of my dad was just to much. I didn’t run a full 5 k straight, as I am sure I was running faster that usual and needed walk breaks but, it was the first time I was able to think of my dad while running without the big ball of grief and anger building up and stopping my run like usual. So I think the pressure of training for the half was hampering my runs since I really wasn’t ready in my head for the run. That’s okay though…I am okay with it and will aim for something later.

The gym yesterday was fantastic. It was weird though. Just as I arrived at the gym, I felt very dizzy and of balance. Kind of freaked my out but figured it was from all the junk I ate throughout the weekend and big, big lack of water through the weekend. I decided to head on in anyways, drink some water, and see if it would go away. Funny that while I RAN, I was fine. But, when I stopped to walk, I was VERY loopy. I don’t understand that! I was a little concerned that I wouldn’t be able to have my chest, shoulder, tri workout with my trainer. But once I got started with him, I felt much better except for when doing the stability ball crunches. The up and down movement made me very unbalanced on the ball from the dizziness. Weird. Everything else was fine though.

Funny story: My trainer admitted to me that he had eaten very crappy during the weekend, many chips ect.. So I admitted to him that I had done the same, though it would mean and extra tough ass kicking workout for me! (I deserved it though! ) Anyways, he introduced a move for the abs called ‘mountain climber’ to me ( I am sure some of you know exactly was this move is!) Very, very tough!ย  While doing my third set ofย  super sets with shoulder presses and ‘mountain climbers’, I finally turned and asked my trainer if he was making ME work off HIS chips!! ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL. I thought planks were bad enough! He sure did give me an extra tough ass kicking workout. My stress is gone though! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s a video of mountain climber: my trainer had me do them more slowly with a firmer core and more concentrated focus so there was no bouncing. Tough, tough on the abs!

  1. May 25, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    You have to do what is right for you! Gald you worked off some of the stress in the gym! Got to “love” those mountain climbers! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. May 25, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    It’s not that you’re not doing the half marathon, EVER. It’s just right now, you have to figure yourself out, and get back to that happy place so that you can run again. I think it’s just a slight detour that you’re taking, which is great. You’ll learn new things about yourself along the way, which will make you an even better runner when you attempt the half later.

    I’m glad you had an awesome work out! Sometimes I feel dizzy if I’m not getting enough salt. It sounds weird to say but sodium helps with your blood pressure and a lot of runners (especially salty sweaters) will sweat a LOT of salt out when they run.

  3. May 29, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Lol, that’s so great–you got two workouts in: one for you and one for your trainer!

    And you have your whole life to run your 1/2 or full marathon in the future. You should be in the right place and ba able to enjoy that–I’m sure you will, too!

  4. June 1, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    The half marathon is definitely in your future, I wouldn’t sweat not tackling it now. It’s all good ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

