Wow…

I can’t believe it has been almost a month since I posted last. The really is no excuse for my MIA except that I have had absolutely nothing to say! Everything has been the same old, same old, day in and out. I have been busy with work and back and forth to my dad’s home to try to get him house cleaned out and appraised. Being that his home is 4 hours away, I have been spending weekends there at a time.

And I am still religiously attending the gym and seeing my trainer. The gym has become my second home and I am starting to meet new people there now that I am a regular! LOL. My hubby and I are the protegé of our trainer, he shows us off when approached by potential new clients. 🙂  There has been a great improvement in my physique over the past 2 months but no more fat loss. It has been very frustrating for me to not see a drop in the fat on my waist, hips, thighs and ass. I have spent many an hour contemplating why my fat loss has stopped and came to this realization:

—— before the gym, I worked out (cardio) for about 60 mins 6 days a week.

  • Once I started the gym, because of  the time restraints, my fat burning/cardio sessions were reduced to 20-30 mins.
  • And I realized that I was only doing them 4 times per week as Fridays were always a day hubby hates going to the gym so I didn’t either. Then we stayed home on the weekends for a break and to get caught up on household shit.
  • So, upon reflection, I realized that I have been working out at weight maintenance  levels for almost three months now! You guys all know the rules: 3 or 4 times/week of exercise to maintain your weight, 5-6 times/week of exercise to lose weight. No wonder I have been at a complete halt in my weight loss in spite of my weight training! Less days of working out with less time while doing it! No wonder!

So my goal this week is to get back into my regular days (5-6) of cardio/fat burning workouts. And if I need to, add some extra time after my weight sessions to get more fat burning in! I think if I had actually sat down with my trainer to discuss my fat loss halt, we would have realized the problem 2 months ago and I would have been ahead right now. Plus, I really need to focus on getting in my water. I have been very, very slack in that department for the last few weeks and it is starting to show in my workouts. Sluggishness and quick fatigue! Smarten up me!!!  Kick my butt you guys! I need it!

How has everyone else been doing with their goals? I know it can be hard with the nice weather finally here to stick too it.

  1. June 16, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Woot Karyn, I am glad to see you back! I have been wondering about you lately. It’s good to hear that you are okay. And you know, maintenance is not all that bad. I realize the desire/need to get to the goal, but maintenance is better than gaining. Keep up the great work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

