Home > hiking, nature > Missed trail run and doggies first nature trip

Missed trail run and doggies first nature trip

I just, by fluke, found out that one of my favorite places to go for my trail bike rides and hiking, hosted trail runs and a half marathon this past Saturday. This place is only 15 mins away. How do people find out about these things, these races ect.. I would have loved to run the 5k trail run there if I had known about it. Does anyone know how I would find out about races in my area? I have checked the Running Room as they have some races listed but not all and definately not the one at my favorite trails. I had 2 reactions to this accidental discovery. Excitement over the fact that races are held there in familiar territory, and, disappointment that I didn’t know about it.

On a happier note, for my dog anyways, she had her first trip to the river valley nature trails for a hike.

Rivervalley She loved it and behaved wonderfully according to my daughter as she was the one to take her. I was disappointed that DD didn’t invite me to go with them as it would have been a blast and I spent the day being a lonely, bored sole. šŸ˜¦

Here is a pic of my pups first trip in the river. She actually had to be carried in as she is scared to death of water but, needed to cool down. Doesn’t look like she is suffering too much here! LOL šŸ™‚

Moka in North Saskatchewan river

Categories: hiking, nature
  1. September 21, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Your dog looks like she is having a blast, too!

    • September 21, 2009 at 9:13 pm

      When they brought her home, we thought she would be pooped, but, she was anxious to head out with my DD again. She was just going to do homework. LOL.

  2. September 21, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Think this isn’t taking a link in the comment. active dot com is a website where you can look up local races and events.

    • September 21, 2009 at 9:15 pm

      Thanks Lori. I will check it out. I am looking forward to maybe doing a 5k before the snow hits. I could never seem to find any info though.

  3. September 22, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I love the look on your dogs face!!! LOL!!! She’s like… “You’re leaving me in here!?!?!??! Rotfl!!!

    I’m right smack in the middle of the city, wish I had some trails that were closeby too… least you found it now! šŸ™‚

    ~C.
    http://www.operationmuffintop.wordpress.com

    • September 22, 2009 at 2:54 pm

      The trails my pup is at in the pic is in the city 40 mins away but, SO worth the drive. The other trails we go to are only about 10-15 mins to get to. Much easier for evening. šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment